clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

México Women’s Senior National Team to play Slovakia on April 10, releases roster

A lot of familiar faces as well as some new ones will face Slovakia in Austria.

Spain v Mexico - FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup Uruguay 2018 Final Photo by Buda Mendes - FIFA/FIFA via Getty Images

México confirmed a second friendly for the Women’s National Team during the upcoming international break, announcing they’ll play Slovakia at Wiener Neudorf Stadion outside of Vienna, Austria. The match will be played on Saturday, April 10, ahead of their previously announced friendly against Spain in Marbella, Spain on April 13.

The match against 45th ranked Slovakia will be a good tune-up for México before they face 12th ranked Spain. The match against Slovakia will be at 2:00 PM CET (local time) / 7:00 AM CDT (Central US and México), while the match against Spain will be at 7:00 PM CET / 12:00 PM CDT.

México also released their squad for the friendlies. The call-up list was the following:

Goalkeepers (2): Ceci Santiago (PSV Eindhoven), Emily Alvarado (Texas Christian University)

Defenders (7): Kenti Robles (Real Madrid), Bianca Sierra (Tigres UANL), Janelly Farías (América), Jocelyn Orejel (América), Kimberly Rodríguez (Oklahoma State University), Jimena López (SD Eibar), Reyna Reyes (University of Alabama)

Midfielders (8): Rebeca Bernal (Monterrey), Nancy Antonio (Tigres UANL), Daniela Espinosa (América), Nicole Pérez (Monterrey), Diana García (Monterrey), Belén Cruz (Tigres UANL), María Sánchez (Tigres UANL), Montserrat Hernández (América)

Forwards (4): Alison González (Atlas), Renae Cuéllar (Club Tijuana), Alicia Cervantes (Guadalajara), Stephany Mayor (Tigres UANL)

Notably Ceci Santiago will join the team, despite missing a significant amount of time at PSV due to injury. The team is a good mix of European based players players in the United States college system, and Liga MX Femenil players.