clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Mexican leagues to continue this weekend despite coronavirus pandemic

New, 1 comment

While other leagues around the globe suspend or shut down completely, Liga MX and Liga MX Femenil will play on.

America v Atlanta United - CONCACAF Champions League 2020 Photo by Jaime Lopez/Jam Media/Getty Images

While sports leagues around the globe suspend action or shut down completely in the wake of the COVID-19 outbreak that’s the time of this writing has killed over 4,700 and has over 128,000 known cases worldwide, Mexican soccer is still planning on going forward this weekend. While this is good news for a frightened public who have lost most other forms of sporting entertainment, the potential risks are great.

The good news is that so far, Mexico has just 12 confirmed cases of novel coronavirus according to John’s Hopkins University. The bad news is that there have been significant questions around the veracity of testing and preventative measures being taken in the country.

Regardless, the show will go on. There will be some modifications to the pregame rituals, with the player escorts and pregame handshakes stopped for the time being and recommending frequent hand washing and disinfecting surfaces at stadiums and training facilities.

Health risks aside, this is a great opportunity for the leagues to showcase themselves to a global audience looking for an escape from how bad things seem at the moment.

Times and listings are for US audiences please check your local listings for times and viewing options.

Friday, March 13:

Quéretaro Femenil vs. Morelia Femenil (6:00 PM ET / 3:00 PM ET)

Morelia vs. Querétaro (TUDN, 11:00 PM ET / 8:00 PM PT)

Tijuana vs. Pachuca (ESPN Deportes, 11:06 PM ET / 8:06 PM PT)

Saturday, March 14:

UNAM Pumas Femenil vs. Cruz Azul Femenil (TUDNXtra 1, 2:00 PM ET / 11:00 AM PT)

Atlético San Luis vs. Puebla (7:00 PM ET / 4:00 PM PT)

León vs. UNAM Pumas (TUDN, 9:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM PT)

UANL Tigres ve. FC Juárez (ESPN Deportes, 9:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM PT)

Guadalajara vs. Monterrey (CHIVASTV, 11:00 PM ET / 8:00 PM PT)

Sunday, March 15:

Guadalajara Femenil vs. Toluca Femenil (CHIVASTV, 2:00 PM ET / 11:00 AM PT)

Puebla Femenil vs. León Femenil (2:00 PM ET / 11:00 PM PT)

Toluca vs. Atlas (TUDN, 2:00 PM ET / 11:00 PM PT)

Santos Laguna vs. Necaxa (ESPN Deportes, 8:00 PM ET / 5:00 PM PT)

América vs. Cruz Azul (TUDN, 10:15 PM ET / 7:15 PM PT)

Monday, March 16:

Pachuca Femenil vs. Tijuana Femenil (9:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM PT)

América Femenil vs. Tigres Femenil (TUDN, 9:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM PT)

Atlético San Luis Femenil vs. Necaxa Femenil (10:00 PM ET / 7:00 PM PT)

Monterrey Femenil vs. Atlas Femenil (11:00 PM ET / 8:00 PM PT)

Santos Laguna Femenil vs. FC Juárez Femenil (11:00 PM ET / 8:00 PM PT)