clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Necaxa v Monterrey: Preview, TV Schedule, and How to Watch Liga MX Online

Los Rayados open the Liguilla against Necaxa

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Monterrey v Tigres UANL - CONCACAF Champions League 2019 Photo by Azael Rodriguez/Getty Images

Game: Impulsora del Deportivo Necaxa S.A. de C.V. v Club de Fútbol Monterrey

Date: Thursday. May 9th, 2019

Time: 8:00 p.m. Eastern, 7:00 p.m. Central, 5:00 p.m. Pacific, midnight UTC

Venue: Estadio Victoria, Aguascalientes

Television: United States - Univision Deportes; Mexico -Canal 5 Televisa, TDN ; Costa Rica & Central America-TDN

Streaming: fuboTV (Free trial + monthly subscription), Sling TV (Free trial + monthly subscription), United States: Univision Deportes App; Mexico; Televisa Deportes En Vivo.

Check Livesoccertv for more information.


Monterrey will begin their quest to win the Liguilla tonight in Aguascalientes against sixth seed Necaxa. Monterrey are considered one of the favorites to lift the trophy at the end of the season, as the team seems to have found its form after defeating cross-town rivals Tigres UANL for the Concacaf Champions League trophy only a few days ago.

Despite last week’s loss to Club Atlas, which had no bearing on the standings at all and featured a much-changed side from the one that had won the CCL on May 1st at the Estadio BBVA Bancomer, it appears that Diego Alonso finally has this team playing good football heading into the Liguilla.

First up for Los Rayados is Club Necaxa, who had a surprising season and finished in the Liguilla after finishing the Apertura 2018 in 16th place with 14 points. A large part of their success in the Clausura was down to forward Brian Fernandez. However, after picking up a red card against Monterrey in week 16, which saw him banned for the final match of the season and the first two games in the Liguilla, Necaxa sold him to MLS and the Portland Timbers this week.

While it wouldn’t necessarily have made a difference, as Fernandez was set to miss the quarterfinal match-up against Monterrey anyway, his departure will still be felt. The team still has some dangerous players that could cause concern for Monterrey, but this Rayados team is healthy and deep, and looking to pick up another trophy this season.