clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Club Atlas v Monterrey: Preview, TV Schedule, and How to Watch Liga MX online

Can Monterrey overcome a CCL victory hangover to get a victory in the final week of the Clausura 2019

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Monterrey v Tigres UANL - CONCACAF Champions League 2019 Photo by Azael Rodriguez/Getty Images

Game: Fútbol Club Atlas v Club de Fútbol Monterrey

Date: Sunday, May 5th, 2019

Time: 5:00 p.m. Eastern, 4:00 p.m. Central, 2:00 p.m. Pacific, 9 p.m. UTC

Venue: Estadio Jalisco, Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico

Television: United States - Univision Deportes; Mexico - ESPN Norte; Costa Rica & Central America- ESPN Norte.

Streaming: fuboTV (Free trial + monthly subscription), Sling TV (Free trial + monthly subscription), United States: Univision Deportes App; ESPN Play Norte in Mexico & Central America; ESPN Play Sur in Argentina, Chile & most of South America; Watch ESPN Brazil.

Check Livesoccertv for more information.


Monterrey travel to Guadalajara to take on Club Atlas in a match that doesn’t really matter all that much for either team. Atlas would probably like to pick up some points and go into the offseason with a positive result, but at this point a win wouldn’t make much of a difference, except perhaps to jump above their cross-town rivals, Chivas, in the table.

On the other hand, Monterrey appear locked into third place in the table, as they are level on points with Cruz Azul with a better goal difference, and none of the other teams below them can overtake them in the last weekend before the Liguilla.

However, Monterrey will have to deal with complacency in this match, as Los Rayados are coming off of a win in the Concacaf Champions League over Tigres UANL in midweek. Monterrey got a win over their eternal rivals at home to lift a trophy while denying Tigres the chance to win an international trophy, something that has plagued Tigres for a few years now. With both Tigres and Monterrey favorites in the Liguilla going into this weekend, it will be interesting to see just how seriously Monterrey takes this match and what kind of lineup that Diego Alonso will trot out. Given that Alonso likes to rest players after a mid-week match, look for Monterrey to field a team similar to the one that took the pitch against Necaxa, as Monterrey will be looking to rest their big guns before the Liguilla and a chance to complete the doblete.