clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tigres beat León, win seventh Liga MX title

Leon v Tigres UANL - Final Torneo Clausura 2019 Liga MX Photo by Hector Vivas/Getty Images

Tigres UANL were crowned Liga MX champions for the seventh time in their history as a goalless draw in the second leg was enough to see Ricardo “Tuca” Ferretti’s men win the 2019 Liga MX Clausura.

Tigres benefited from a 1-0 win in the first leg to claim their fourth Liga MX title in four years. It was heartbreaking for León who finished the regular season in record-breaking fashion but were unable to replicate that same level of play in the Liguilla.

León’s start to the game was bright, with Joel Campbell, Luis Montes and William Tesillo all having half chances at putting La Fiera ahead. But after losing Angel Mena to a suspected knee injury, Tigres committed more men forward and took control of the game.

Early in the second half, Eduardo Vargas teed up from distance, forcing Rodolfo Cota to a good save.

Minutes later, Ignacio Ambriz stood and applauded his men forward as a cross floated helplessly past the Tigres box without a single León player able to get a touch on it.

Rather than a León rally, Tigres looked closer to scoring when another brilliant save from Rodolfo Cota denied Vargas a second time.

León showed encouraging signs after Nahuel Guzman parried away what appeared to be a certain goal from a Vinicio Angulo header.

However, as time ticked down, Andres Mosquera was sent off for León, essentially conceding Tigres the victory and another Liga MX title.