clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Mexico vs Jamaica: Preview TV Schedule, and How to Watch U-17 CONCACAF Championship Online

Mexico will open Group A with their toughest match against Jamaica

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Bradenton Academy, where the 2019 U17 CONCACAF Championship will be held.
Rafael Hernandez

Mexico will start the defense of their CONCACAF U-17 Championship with their toughest group stage match against Jamaica. Mexico should be favored to go through from the Group Stage, as three of four teams in the group make it into the knockout stages, but they will want to leave a good impression in their first game of the competition.

Jamaica, however, won’t be an easy team, and Mexico should just look back at the troubles they had in the U-20 Championship against this team, where they were only able to grab a draw and had to rely on goal differential to qualify to the next round. This time around, though, the new format will give Mexico more wiggle room.

Although the path out of the group stage is easier, as opposed to the U-20 CONCACAF Championship, Mexico will have to go through two knockout rounds if they want to qualify to the World Cup, given that only Semifinal teams get to earn a ticket to the 2019 U-17 World Cup to be held in Brazil later this year.

The 2019 U-17 CONCACAF Tournament will be held in Bradenton, Florida. Mexico has gone with their experimented squad, led by LA Galaxy’s Efrain Alvarez. In the most recent past, Mexico won the 2017 U-17 CONCACAF Championship in Panama after defeating the U.S. in the final and cruising through almost every rival.

Date: Wednesday, May 1

Time: 03:00pm Pacific, 05:00pm Central, 06:00pm Eastern

Venue: IMG Academy Field, Bradenton, Florida

TV: Univision Deportes (US-Español)

Streaming: fuboTV (Free trial + monthly subscription), CONCACAF GO

Listings via LiveSoccerTV.com