clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mexico start preparations for U-20 World Cup with training camp

Daniel Lajud leads the way in the call-up list for the first camp prior to the U-20 World Cup

Monterrey v Toluca - Torneo Apertura 2018 Liga MX Photo by Azael Rodriguez/Getty Images

Mexico started their preparation for the U-20 World Cup as coach Diego Ramirez made his first call-up of 2019, with a lot of new names from the U-20 CONCACAF Championship in which Mexico finished second. Mexico will train from February 10 to the 13th in the Centro de Alto Rendimiento (CAR).

Daniel Lajud of Monterrey leads the way after having a very good closing to 2018 for los Rayados. He was loaned to Queretaro this season where he hasn’t had the best of times along with the rest of the team.

The list also has the return of Roberto de la Rosa, as well as the addition of two Pumas players, Idekel Dominguez and Brian Figueroa, who have gained increasing playing time.

The most notable omission is Jose Juan Macias, who not only was the leading scorer of the U-20 CONCACAF Tournament but has had 3 goals so far with Leon, proving to be one of the most interesting stories in the tournament thus far.

Here is the call up list:

Goalkeepers: Carlos Higuera (Tijuana), Luis Lopez (Dorados) Angel Alonzo (Necaxa)

Defenders: Gilberto Sepulveda (Chivas), Carlos Vargas (America), Aldhair Molina (Puebla), Idekel Dominguez (UNAM), Haret Ortega (America), Efrain Orona (Pachuca), Arturo Cardenas (Queretaro), Luis Martinez (Tijuana)

Midfielders: Misael Dominguez (Cruz Azul), Daniel Lajud (Queretaro), Carlos Gutierrez (UNAM), Francisco Figueroa (Pachuca), Jose Plascencia (Necaxa), Adrian Lozano (Santos) Brian Figueroa (UNAM), Alexis Gutierrez (Cruz Azul), Ivan Acero (Toluca), Alan Torres (Chivas), Jose Hernandez (America)

Forwards: Daniel Lopez (Tijuana), Roberto de la Rosa (Pachuca), Jose Lopez (America)

With the CONMEBOL South American U-20 Tournament concluding on Sunday, all 24 teams for the U-20 World Cup will be set. The draw will be held on February 24.