clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Club América get big win over Monarcas, set up Liga MX Final versus Monterrey

America v Morelia - Playoffs Torneo Apertura 2019 Liga MX Photo by Hector Vivas/Getty Images

First half goals from Renato Ibarra and Federico Viñas earned Club América a place in the 2019 Liga MX Apertura Final after beating Monarcas Morelia 2-0 at the Estadio Azteca on Sunday.

After falling 2-0 in the First Leg, Miguel Herrera’s men needed to start this game all guns blazing, and that’s exactly what they did when las Águilas had a penalty shout in the opening seconds of the match through Henry Martin.

Martin then came close again before Renato Ibarra gave a warning of what was to come when Gabriel Achilier had to come to Monarcas Morelia’s rescue in the 24th minute.

By this point, América had complete control of possession, and from a quick breakaway down the left-hand side, Andres Ibarguen found Renato Ibarra at the edges of the box to score the breakthrough.

It wouldn’t take long for América to grab a second, and from a Roger Martinez cross, Federico Viñas would score the 2-0, a scoreline that would put América through to the Final.

América’s dominance would continue well into the second period, and Viñas had a chance to score a second when his shot hit the crossbar following a Monarcas Morelia mistake.

In the 70th minute, Monarcas appeared to have scored the all-important away goal when Jose Ortiz finished off a Morelia set-piece. But after consulting VAR, the match official decided to rightfully overturn the goal.

Moments later, it was Club América’s turn to have a goal overturned when Roger Martinez had a goal called off for a handball prior to the play.

In the dying seconds of the match, Morelia would have one last chance to score, but Guillermo Ochoa would hang on to a Fernando Aristeguieta header to send América through to the 2019 Liga MX Apertura Final.

América will now take on Monterrey, who will first have to travel to Qatar to participate in the Club World Cup. The first leg of the final is scheduled to take place on December 26, with the return leg being played at the Estadio Azteca on the 29th.