clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Monterrey vs Al-Hilal: Preview, TV Schedule, and How To Watch Club World Cup Online

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

FBL-QAT-FIFA-CLUB-WORLD-CUP-MONTERREY-LIVERPOOL Photo by KARIM JAAFAR/AFP via Getty Images

After a valiant performance against Liverpool, Monterrey will look to finish their 2019 Club World Cup campaign with a third-place medal.

Three times in Club World Cup history has a Mexican team finished third in a Club World Cup. Monterrey will look to make it four as they take on Al-Hilal, losers of the other Semifinal.

Previously Monterrey were third-place finishers in the 2012 edition, and third-place is as high as any Mexican team has finished in Club World Cup history. Given the heartbreaking nature of Monterrey’s defeat to Liverpool, third-place may serve as just a small consolation, although many called their last-minute defeat to the European champions one of the best Mexican performances in a Club World Cup ever.

The one possible factor to look out for is los Rayados have their eyes set in next week’s Liga MX final showdown against Club América. That and the fact that it’s a third-place match, where teams typically send out a mixed side.

That said, third-place matches tend to be quite entertaining, and this one promises to be no different.

Date: Saturday, December 21

Time: 6:30am Pacific, 8:30am Central, 9:30am Eastern

Venue: Khalifa International Stadium, Doha, Qatar

TV: FOX Deportes (US-Español), Fox Sports 2 (US-English), Fox Sports 2 (Mexico)

Streaming: fuboTV (Free trial + monthly subscription), Fox Sports GO

Listings via LiveSoccerTV.com