clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mexico release squad for Women’s World Cup qualifiers

Mexico will participate in the CONCACAF Women’s Championship which will be played from October 4th to the 17th.

Trinidad & Tobago v Mexico: Third Place - 2014 CONCACAF Women’s Championship Photo by Mitchell Leff/Getty Images

Mexico has announced their squad for the 2019 CONCACAF Women’s Championship. The team that recently won the Gold Medal in the Central American games by beating Costa Rica 3-1 in the final will be once again led by Charlyn Corral, star player of Levante.

Mexico will be in Group A along with the United States, Panama and Trinidad and Tobago. All the Group Stage matches will be played in Cary, North Carolina. Mexico will open against the United States before facing Trinidad and Tobago and finishing off against Panama.

The CONCACAF Tournament will give three tickets to the World Cup: the two finalists, as well as the third-place team. Meanwhile, the fourth-placed team will play in a CONCACAF/CONMEBOL playoff for a potential fourth ticket to the World Cup.

Mexico Squad:

Goalkeepers: Cecilia Santiago (America), Blanca Henninger (Houston Dash)

Defenders: Kenti Robles (Atletico de Madrid), Bianca Sierra (Thor), Monica Flores (Valencia), Rebeca Bernal (Monterrey), Cristina Murilla (Chicago Red Stars) Arianna Romero (Valur Reykjavik)

Midfielders: Nayeli Rangel (Tigres), Stephany Mayor (Thor), Jacqueline Ovalle (Tigres) Cristina del Carmen (Tigres) Karla Nieto (Pachuca), Nancy Guadalupe Antonio (Tigres), Maria Guadalupe Sanchez (Santa Cruz University)

Forwards: Charlyn Corral (Levante) Kaitlyn Johnson (Sky Blue FC) Kiana Palacios (Real Sociedad) Monica Ocampo (Pachuca) Ariana Calderon (Thor)