clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Toronto FC vs. Tigres UANL, 2018 Campeones Cup: Time, TV Schedule, and live stream

MLS champions Toronto FC host Liga MX champion Tigres UANL in the inaugural Campeones Cup.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Tigres UANL v Toronto FC - CONCACAF Champions League 2018 Photo by Azael Rodriguez/Getty Images

Match: Toronto FC vs. Tigres UANL

Date: Wednesday, September 19th

Time: 8:15 PM Eastern, 7:15 PM Central, 5:15 PM Pacific, 1:15 AM UTC

Venue: BMO Field (Toronto, Ontario, Canada)

Television: United States - ESPN 2, Univision; Mexico - Afizzinados, TDN; Canada - TSN, TVA Sports

Streaming: Fanatiz, fuboTV (Free trial + monthly subscription), Sling (Free trial + monthly subscription), Univision NOW

MLS Cup winners Toronto FC play host to Liga MX champions Tigres UANL in the inaugural edition of the Campeones Cup to be played annually between the champions of MLS and Liga MX as part of a wider agreement of strategic cooperation between North America’s biggest professional fútbol leagues.

The match, which has been widely criticized by fans who view it as a cheap attempt for both leagues to make some quick cash, will be a rematch of the CONCACAF Champions League semifinal matchup between the two teams that ended 4-4 on aggregate and saw Toronto FC advance on away goals.

The two sides have not had nearly the same level of success since their last meeting in the continental championship. Toronto FC find themselves in 9th place of the Eastern Conference and well outside of playoff contention. In their last league match, Toronto FC defeated the Los Angeles Galaxy 5-3. Sebastian Giovinco and Jonathan Osorio have been the standout players for the squad from Canada with a combined 21 goals scored between them.

Los Felinos are currently sitting in 7th place of the Liga MX table after a disappointing start to the 2018 Apertura season. In their most recent match, Tigres tied 1-1 on the road in Pachuca. The match was a pretty good barometer of the squad from Monterrey’s season. Tigres struggled to create scoring opportunities and were only saved by a golazo from Lucas Zelarayán. Without a doubt, André-Pierre Gignac is the most talented player on the Tigres roster. This season, the Frenchman has 6 goals through the first 8 matches that he has played.

Should Tigres win the match, they would secure their first piece of international silverware; something that has eluded the star-powered squad for far too long. Given the gravity of what is at stake, Tigres has decided to bring a full strength squad to Canada. Toronto will have to play with an equally strong squad if they want to have a chance to compete with Tigres.

Expect a tightly contested match that should be worth every penny.