clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Match recap: Club Tijuana 1, Club León 1

10-man Xolos able to salvage a point thanks to a Luis Fuentes goal late.

Toluca v Tijuana - Playoffs Torneo Clausura 2018 Liga MX Photo by Manuel Velasquez/Getty Images

Tijuana failed to convert a penalty, went down a man, and went down a goal, but a lucky redirection on a Luis Fuentes shot salvaged a point for the Aztec Canines against rivals León at Estadio Caliente in the final Liga MX match of the week.

In the 13th minute, Erick “Cubo” Torres got tangled up with Andrés Mosquera in the box and a penalty was awarded. Miller Bolaños shot low and hard but Rodolfo Cota guessed right and stopped Bolaños shot.

Luis Chávez would pick up his second yellow card just 39 minutes into the game (and two minutes after his first yellow) for a hard foul on Maximiliano Cerato, leaving Xolos with just ten men on the field. Moments later Cerato hit one past Xolos goalkeeper Gibran Lajud but the referee called it off due to a foul Cerato committed on Luis Fuentes.

León would finally break down the Tijuana defense when Walter González got his head on the end of a cross into the box, beating Lajud to give La Fiera the lead.

León would have chances throughout the match, but were unable to capitalize on them. Letting Xolos remain in the game would prove to be a mistake, as Luis Fuentes would tie the match in the 72nd minute when he hit a shot that deflected off of a León defender and past Cota to tie the match.

Tijuana will continue their home stand by hosting Toluca in Copa MX play on Wednesday and Cruz Azul in Liga MX play on Sunday. Also in Liga MX play, León will host Querétaro on Saturday.

Club Tijuana: Gibran Lajud; Luis Fuentes, Juan Carlos Valenzuela, Julián Velázquez, Omar Mendoza; Miller Bolaños (Jesús Angulo, 85’), Diego Rodríguez (Diego González, 68’), Luis Chávez, Ignacio Rivero, Juan Martín Lucero, Erick Torres (Eryc Castillo, 58’)

Club León: Rodolfo Cota; Juan Cornejo, William Tesillo, Miguel Herrera (Omar Mireles, 63’), Andrés Mosquera; Alexander Mejia, Leonel López; Walter González, Luis Montes, Maximilano Cerato (Yairo Moreno, 63’); Mauro Boselli (Claudio González, 80’)

Scoring: Club Tijuana - Luis Fuentes (74’); Club León - Walter González (53’)

Disciplinary: Club Tijuana - Luis Chávez (Yellow - 37’, Second Yellow - 39’), Diego Rodríguez (Yellow - 68’); Club León - Yairo Moreno (Yellow - 75’)