clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Liga MX announces calendar for the 2018 Apertura

The season starts on July 20 in Veracruz.

Toluca v Santos Laguna - Final Torneo Clausura 2018 Liga MX Photo by Manuel Velasquez/Getty Images

The FMF revealed its new calendar for the 2018 Liga MX Apertura season. The league is set to start on July 20th with Veracruz at home against Pumas. The season ends with the Second Leg of the Final, to be played on December 13th.

The season is going to come with a couple of schedule changes for various teams, with the Tiburones Rojos being one of them, as they previously played all their home games on Sunday nights. The big one is America moving their games earlier on Saturday, from 9:00pm local time to 7:00pm. Monterrey, who also changed TV stations, will move from 7:00pm Saturday nights to 9:00pm. Xolos of Tijuana will move from Friday nights to Saturday nights on different hours (7:00pm or 9:00pm). Lobos BUAP, who were relegated but managed to stay up through a payment, will now play on Sundays at 4:00pm.

The big games of the season will be:

America vs Chivas. September 30th 6:00pm local time in Mexico City

Cruz Azul vs America. October 27th 9:00pm local time in Mexico City

Atlas vs Chivas. August 24th 9:00pm Local time in Guadalajara

America vs Pumas. August 25th 7:00pm local time in Mexico City

Tigres vs Monterrey. September 22th 7:00pm local time in Monterrey

As for the two teams that will change TV stations for this season, Monterrey will go from Televisa to FOX Network, while Xolos will go from TV Azteca to FOX.

Liga MX champion Santos Laguna will open their season at home against Lobos BUAP on July 22nd.