clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mexico confirm 28-man World Cup squad for Russia, Rafael Marquez is in

Mexico v New Zealand: Group A - FIFA Confederations Cup Russia 2017 Photo by Dean Mouhtaropoulos/Getty Images

39-year-old Rafael Marquez headlines Mexico’s 28-man preliminary World Cup Squad ahead of Russia 2018.

Marquez has missed all of Mexico’s matches recent matches due to legal issues but is set to be allowed to play in his fifth World Cup for El Tri.

Mexico boss Juan Carlos Osorio has also included Major League Soccer’s Giovani dos Santos, while Santos Laguna’s Nestor Araujo has also received a call-up despite struggling with a knee injury suffered in a friendly against Croatia back in March.

Hector Herrera, Jesus Manuel “Tecatito” Corona and Diego Reyes, who all just clinched their first Primeira Liga title with FC Porto, were also chosen for this 28-man selection. Meanwhile, veterans Hector Moreno and Andres Guardado will likely anchor their respective lines, with Javier “Chicharito” Hernandez set to be the first option up front for coach Juan Carlos Osorio. Chicharito has scored 49 goals for his country in 100 international games.

The only real surprise in the list comes in the form of Pachuca’s Erick Gutierrez. The Tuzos captain has largely been linked with a move to PSV Eindhoven during the summer. At the same time, Juan Carlos Osorio left no room in the team for Gutierrez’s former teammate and current Chivas starlet Rodolfo Pizarro. The 24-year-old was a key part in Chivas winning the 2018 CONCACAF Champions League.

Mexico will play in Group F at Russia 2018, taking on defending champions Germany on June 17 before facing South Korea on June 23 and Sweden on June 27.

You can see Mexico’s full squad below (will be reduced to 23 by June 4)

Goalkeepers: Jesus Corona (Cruz Azul), Alfredo Talavera (Toluca), Guillermo Ochoa (Standard Liege)

Defenders: Edson Alvarez (Club America), Nestor Araujo (Santos Laguna), Hugo Ayala (Tigres UANL), Jesus Gallardo(Pumas UNAM), Miguel Layun (Sevilla), Hector Moreno (Real Sociedad), Diego Reyes (FC Porto), Carlos Salcedo (Eintracht Frankfurt), Oswaldo Alanis (Getafe)

Midfielders: Jonathan Dos Santos (LA Galaxy), Marco Fabian (Eintracht Frankfurt), Erick Gutierrez (Pachuca), Rafael Marquez (Atlas), Andres Guardado (Real Betis), Giovani dos Santos (LA Galaxy), Hector Herrera (FC Porto), Jesus Molina (Monterrey)

Forwards: Javier Aquino (Tigres UANL), Jesus Manuel Corona (FC Porto), Jurgen Damm (Tigres UANL), Javier Hernandez (West Ham), Raul Jimenez (Benfica), Hirving Lozano (PSV Eindhoven), Oribe Peralta (Club America), Carlos Vela (Los Angeles Football Club)