clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Club América vs. Monarcas Morelia, 2018 Liga MX: Time, TV Schedule, and live stream

Club América host Monarcas Morelia in a midweek Liga MX showdown.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Tigres UANL v America - Torneo Clausura 2018 Liga MX Photo by Angel Cervantes/Jam Media/Getty Images

Match: Club América vs. Monarcas Morelia

Date: Tuesday, February 13th

Time: 9:45 PM Eastern, 8:45 PM Central, 6:45 PM Pacific, 2:45 AM UTC

Venue: Estadio Azteca (Mexico City)

Television: United States - UniMás; Mexico - TDN

Streaming: Univision Deportes app, Fanatiz, fuboTV (Free trial + monthly subscription), Sling (Free trial + monthly subscription)

Club América return home to Estadio Azteca to take on Monarcas Morelia on short rest following their highly entertaining and rather controversial draw with Tigres UANL in Monterrey over the weekend.

For large portions of there match over the weekend, Miguel Herrera’s side looked like the better of the two on the pitch. Their high energy pressing pinned a star studded Tigres UANL squad back in their own half for most of the match. However, their inability to take advantage of their chances in the first half came back to bite them as the makeshift backline allowed André-Pierre Gignac to easily head home the opener.

Contrary to last season, las Águilas didn't fold under the pressure after falling behind on the scoresheet. Instead, it seemed like the squad from Mexico City ratcheted up their intensity level to match that of their opposition. This increased level of intensity led to Club América earning a somewhat controversial penalty that big French signing Jérémy Ménez was able to cannon home to level the score. All in all, it was a great performance by Club América against very challenging opposition and they were unlucky to not come away with all three points.

Monarcas Morelia, on the other hand, come into the match in Mexico City on the heels of a rather shambolic showing at home against Pumas UNAM. From the first whistle to the end of the match, Monarcas were outclassed by the visiting outfit from the capital. Rather humiliatingly, it was an own goal that was the difference between the two teams at the end of the Match. Monarcas will have to improve drastically if they hope to take anything from their visit to Mexico City.

Miguel Herrera will likely have to trot out a different lineup than that which faced Tigres UANL over the weekend. If rumors coming out of Club América’s training facilities are to be believed the starting XI will look like the following: Marchesín, Aguilera, Edson, William, Paul, Guido, Mateus, Corona or Ibargüen, Ménez, Cecilio, and Martin.

Despite trotting out a makeshift lineup against Monarcas, it is not likely that Club América will drop points in this match. Current form and individual talent should propel las Águilas to victory without much trouble.