clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Edson Alvarez stars as Club América beat Cruz Azul, win 13th Liga MX title

Cruz Azul v America - Final Torneo Apertura 2018 Liga MX Photo by Hector Vivas/Getty Images

Edson Alvarez scored twice as Club América beat Cruz Azul to win the Liga MX title for a record 13th time.

Alvarez’s first goal was superb. Las Águilas benefited from an error from goalkeeper Jose de Jesus Corona when Oribe Peralta snatched the ball for Alvarez, who sublimely fired the ball into the back of the net.

The goal damaged Cruz Azul’s confidence, and Corona had to be called into action a second time after Renato Ibarra cut inside and was denied América’s second.

In the 87th minute, Cruz Azul’s search for an equalizer turned into desperation when Gerardo Flores rushed from the bench towards the field to get himself sent off.

As time ticked down, Corona blocked Cecilio Dominguez’s effort. The defense allowed Alvarez to grab the rebound and slot the ball past Corona to end the match there and then and give América the title.

The final ended with youngster Diego Lainez in tears of happiness and América becoming the most winning team in Mexican soccer history.

It was heartbreaking for Cruz Azul who were arguably the best team across the regular season and came closer than ever to lifting their first league title in more than 21 years.