clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Liga MX Femenil Quarterfinals recap

Tales of triumph and heartbreak from the first round of the Liga MX Femenil 2018 Apertura Liguilla.

Toluca v Santos Laguna - Torneo Apertura 2018 Liga MX Photo by Hector Vivas/Getty Images

The stage is set for the Liguilla semifinal round, with América, Chivas, Tigres, and Pachuca moving on. Here’s how they got here.

Club América 5, Toluca 3: Toluca drew América in the first round 2-2 thanks to goals from Zaira Miranda and Mariel Roman. Betzy Cuevas would continue her good run of form though, as she scored a brace in the first match to keep América in it going back to México City. In the second game, Lucero Cuevas scored in the first minute to give América the lead. Roman would draw one back for Toluca, but it wasn’t enough as Daniela Espinosa had a brace of her own ensure Las Águilas a place in the semifinals.

Chivas 1, Monterrey 1: Rebeca Bernal put Monterrey up 1-0, but in a cruel twist of fate it would be a Mónica Monsiváis own goal that would put Chivas through as it counted as an away goal for Chivas. Neither side was able to score in the second leg in Guadalajara.

Tigres UANL 2, Atlas 1: Goals in the first leg by Evelyn González and Katty Martínez were the difference makers, as Tigres squeaked by Atlas. Maritza Maldonado scored the lone goal for Atlas in the first leg, however neither team were able to score in the second as goalkeepers Alejandra Gutierrez and Ana Paz put on a clinic.

Pachuca 6, UNAM Pumas 1: At the end of the first game, Pachuca held a modest 1-0 lead thanks to a Mónica Ocampo goal in the 86th minute. Pumas would tie it in the 24th on an Edna Santamaria goal, but it was all Pachuca after that. Ocampo would score twice, Deneva Cagigas would score an own goal, and Esbeydi Salazar and Estefany Hernández would pile on as Pachuca routed Pumas.

Quarterfinals:

November 30:

Club América vs. Pachuca (4:00 PM Eastern / 1:00 PM Pacific)

Chivas vs. Tigres UANL (9:00 PM Eastern / 6:00 PM Pacific)

December 3:

Pachuca vs. Club América (7:00 PM Eastern / 4:00 PM Pacific)

Tigres UANL vs. Chivas (9:00 PM Eastern / 6:00 PM Pacific)