clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Match Preview: Monarcas Morelia vs. Club América

Monarcas Morelia host Club América in Liga MX action on Saturday night at Estadio Morelos.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Photo by Hector Vivas/LatinContent/Getty Images

Game: Monarcas Morelia vs. Club América

Date: Saturday, August 26

Time: 9:00 P.M. Eastern, 8:00 P.M. Central, 6:00 P.M. Pacific, 1:00 A.M. UTC

Venue: Esatdio Morelos

Television: United States - Galavisión; Mexico - Azteca 7

Streaming: fuboTV (Free trial + monthly subscription)

Club América find themselves in second place of the Liga MX table sitting on 13 points after their first six games. Despite their position in the table, las Águilas have yet to like a cohesive unit out on the pitch this season. At times the team has looked devoid of ideas offensively and far too soft defensively. Perhaps this lack of cohesion is the fault of head coach Miguel Herrera and his constant rotation of the match day squad throughout the first six games of the season. However, thanks to the individual talent within the squad Herrera hasn’t had to pay the price for his constant rotations.

Monarcas come into the match off the back of their first league victory; a 2-1 road win against Pumas. The win propelled Monarcas to 14th position in the Liga MX table and lead to the firing of Pumas UNAM coach Paco Palencia. Apart from stunning Pumas, Morelia has struggled mightily this season. Of the first six matches in the season, Monarcas have only scored multiple goals in a match once. Luckily for Monarcas, star Peruvian striker Raul Ruidiaz has finally begun to hit a stride with goals in his last two league matches. Monarcas fans will hope that this hot streak continues if they want to have any chance of winning the match.

In all likelihood it will be Club Aamérica who are the more aggressive side from the start of the match. With a three point gap between themselves and the first place Rayados, it is imperative that the side from capital take home all three points from this road trip. If Darwin Quintero, Cecilio Dominguez, and William Da Silva continue to play at high levels las Águilas should have no problem taking all three points back to the Azteca.