clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Match Preview: Club América vs. Tigres UANL

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Game: Club América vs. Club Tigres UANL

Date: Wednesday, August 23

Time: 8:00 P.M. Eastern, 7:00 P.M. Central, 5:00 P.M. Pacific, 12:00 A.M. UTC

Venue: Estadio Azteca (Ciudad de México)

Television: United States - Univision Deportes; Mexico - TDN

Streaming: fuboTV (Free trial + monthly subscription), Sling (Free trial + monthly subscription), Univision Deportes

Two Mexican giants face off in a midweek clash as las Águilas take on Tigres at the historic Estadio Azteca in Mexico City.

After just the first five weeks of the season, both teams find themselves in the top half of the table, with Club América sitting in second place on twelve points. Miguel Herrera’s squad comes into this clash of giants on the back of a thrilling 3-2 over the newly promoted Lobos BUAP in Puebla. Despite having won four straight league matches, las Águilas have looked dysfunctional and are struggling mightily to string together a consistently strong 90 minute performance.

Tigres find themselves in fifth position sitting on a mere eight points heading into their biggest match of the early season. Tuca Feretti cannot be pleased with the level at which his team have been playing. Despite dominating the possession battle, Tigres have struggled to break down teams that aggressively press them defensively. This means that much of their possession has been ineffective. The loss of team captain Junhino won't make things any easier for Tigres. However, last week’s 2-0 victory over Pumas and the recent quality play by Eduardo Vargas should give the team from Monterrey a much needed confidence boost heading into the match.

Miguel Herrera will likely look to this match against Tigres to prove that both his team and his coaching style, which has included a lot of squad rotations, are the real deal. Expect Herrera to come out with a very strong attacking squad in the hopes of being able to take home all three points and potentially become the new team atop the Liga MX table.