clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mexico release squad for U-17 CONCACAF Tournament

Mexico is one of the favorites of the tournament but will be without their best player, Diego Lainez.

Mexico’s U17 National team
via @miseleccionmx

Coach Mario Arteaga released the 20-player squad that will participate in the U-17 CONCACAF Tournament. The tournament gives four tickets to the U-17 World Cup, which will be held in India in October.

The biggest news, though, was leaked a couple of days ago when reports confirmed that star player Diego Lainez was going to miss this tournament to remain in Club America. While the team is still strong, especially because of stand outs like Ian Jairo Torres and Roberto de la Rosa, they will still be going without their best player.

The complete list of players called up is as follows:

1.- Víctor André Alcaraz Díaz

2.- César Iván López de Alba

3.- Andrés Didyer Catalán Guémes

4.- Alan Maeda Luevanos

5.- Luis Alejandro Olivas Salcedo

6.- Óscar Haret Ortega Gatica

7.- Carlos Alejandro Robles Jiménez

8.- Raúl Martín Sandoval Zavala

9.- Adrián Vázquez Hernández

10.- Luis Javier Gamiz Ávila

11.- Carlos Eduardo Guerrero Zavala

12.- Alexis Hazael Gutiérrez Torres

13.- Jesús Andrés Pérez Álvarez

14.- Víctor Hugo Reyes Márquez

15.- Marco Antonio Ruíz Zarco

16.- Ían Jairo Misael Torres Ramírez

17.- José Alfonso Alvarado Pérez

18.- Roberto Carlos de la Rosa González

19.- César Saúl Huerta Valera

20.- Daniel Guadalupe López Valdez

Mexico is in the “Group of Death” of the competition, Group C, but should be favored to go through. They might also benefit from having the United States in the group, which means they will not face each other in the second phase of the competition, something that did occur in the U-20 tournament and made things tough for Mexico when they lost their match against the US.

Mexico starts the tournament on Sunday with a match against El Salvador. All games will be held in Panama City, Panama.