clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Mexico vs. Costa Rica, 2018 World Cup Qualifying: Time, TV schedule, and live stream

New, 4 comments

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Mexico v Uruguay: Group C - Copa America Centenario Photo by Jennifer Stewart/Getty Images

First place is on the line as Mexico play host to Costa Rica in their third game of the CONCACAF Hexagonal.

Juan Carlos Osorio and Company will measure themselves against the team that currently leads the Hex with a perfect two wins from two games. The "Ticos" arrive to this match with their standards being the highest that Costa Rican football has possibly ever seen, and they will look to truly test those who claim that Mexico are still kings of CONCACAF.

How much Juan Carlos Osorio deals with the absences of key players like Jesus "Tecatito" Corona, Hirving Lozano, and Javier Aquino will be of great interest to those watching at the Estadio Azteca. Osorio has hinted he wants a more direct approach, and of the attacking options he has available are Oribe Peralta, Carlos Vela, Raul Jimenez, and Javier "Chicharito" Hernandez.

Although El Tri did manage a win over the United States back in November, the pressure is still on coach Juan Carlos Osorio to make sure there is no repeat of the famous "Aztecazo". The obvious pitfall for this Mexico team could be its defense. If Costa Rica have some luck in the counter or in set-pieces, it could be a challenging night for Osorio and his men.

Date: Friday March 24

Time: 5:50 PM Pacific, 7:50 PM Central, 8:50 PM Eastern

Venue: Estadio Azteca, Mexico City, Mexico

Television: Univision Deportes Network (US-Spanish), Univision (US-Spanish), Fox Sports 1 (US-English), Azteca 7 (Mexico), UnivisionTDN (Mexico), TDN (Mexico & Costa Rica)

Streaming: fuboTV (Free trial + monthly subscription), Fox Soccer 2Go, Fox Sports GO

Listings via LiveSoccerTV.com.