clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Xolos vs. Cimarrones - Copa MX: Highlights and box score

Xolos shake off a poor first half to punch their ticket in the next round of the Copa MX.

Xolos manager Miguel Herrera shouts instructions during Tijuana’s match against Monterrey. Comunicación Xoloitzcuintles

Xolos were able to turn it on late and defeat Cimarrones de Sonora 2-1, advancing to the knockout stage of the 2017 Clausura Copa MX. Cimarrones defeat sees them knocked out of the tournament, while Correcaminos UAT will advance to the next round as well.

The first half of the match was rather uneventful, with both teams really unable to create many chances. Xolos had the best of the chances late in the first half, however were unable to convert on any of them. Milton Caraglio had a header that was blocked in the box, John Requejo also had a shot blocked in deep, and Michael Orozco missed an open net as time expired in the half.

In the second half, it started out with more of the same. Xolos had some decent chances, however none were converted. Cimarrones would draw first blood when in the 66th minute, Luis Loroña got on the end of a great cross by Néstor Vidrio and put it past Luis Michel to put Cimarrones up 1-0.

Xolos nearly answered just two minutes later when Milton Caraglio got his head on a great cross from John Requejo, however Gabino Espinoza was up to the challenge, kicking Caraglio’s header clear of danger.

Fortunes would change though in the 80th minute however, when Henry Martín was fouled in the box. Néstor Vidrio was shown a straight red card, and Avilés Hurtado would convert the penalty to draw Xolos level.

The pace of the match for the last ten minutes was frenetic, with both teams racing up and down the pitch. Paul Arriola had a shot fly just over the bar, and Victor Malcorra rocketed one off of the crossbar. Malcorra would get the go-ahead goal seconds before the clock struck 90 after Xolos were able to finally break with numbers against Cimarrones.

Xolos: Luis Michel; John Requejo (Victor Malcorra, 70’), Hiram Muñoz, Michael Orozco, Carlos Vargas, Juan Carlos Núñez; Juan Carlos Medina, Jorge Ortiz (Paul Arriola, 59’), Matías Pisano (Avilés Hurtado, 66’); Milton Caraglio, Henry Martín

Cimarrones: Gabino Espinoza; Néstor Vidrio, Aldo Polo, Jesús Saavedra, Edgar Alaffita, Víctor Milke, Jairo Araújo (Hugo Cisneros, 59’), Cristian Ivanobski, Juan de Alba, Josué Soto (Kalú Gastelum, 70’), Luis Loroña, Abraham Carreño

Scoring: Xolos - Avilés Hurtado (Penalty - 81’), Victor Malcorra (89’); Cimarrones - Luis Loroña (65’)

Disciplinary: Xolos - None; Cimarrones - Néstor Vidrio (Red, 79’)