clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tijuana vs. Monterrey: Highlights and box score

A solid all around performance by Xolos ends Rayados’ unbeaten streak.

Club Tijuana Xoloitzcuintles Press Release

Tijuana put together a complete performance against a very good Monterrey team tonight, taking all three points at the Estadio Caliente and (at least for the night), vaulting themselves back into the lead for the Superlider. Juan Martín Lucero and Víctor Malcorra got the goals for Xolos, while Gibran Lajud got his third shutout in Liga MX play this year. The win snapped a 17 game unbeaten streak across all competitions by Rayados.

In the 16th minute, Avilés Hurtado would play a great ball in deep to Víctor Malcorra, who hit a cross into the scrum in the six yard box. Juan Martín Lucero got on the end of it and put it in past Hugo González.

Xolos proceeded to play their game against Rayados, controlling the tempo and pushing the ball upfield. The play was fast and there were plenty of fouls, although Damián Pérez’ yellow card in the 44th minute was not one of them. He slid in, dispossessed the ball, and missed both feet of the attacker but was shown a card nonetheless.

Rayados were able to do a bit better in the start of the second half. They had a good chance when Gibran Lajud saved a shot from distance, but the ball bounced out of his hands and off of the turf to Rogelio Funes Mori, who was only about 3 yards from goal. Funes Mori skied the shot, and the one goal lead was safe.

63 minutes in, Iván Piris conceded a free kick about 20 yards out. Víctor Malcorra hit a beautiful free kick to double Tijuana’s lead in the 65th minute.

Try as they might, Rayados could not get anything going offensively. Tijuana’s defense had an answer for everything that was thrown at them, and Monterrey just couldn’t keep up with the blistering pace put forth by Xolos.

Xolos host Cimarrones de Sonora on Tuesday in Copa MX play before hosting Pachuca next Friday. Monterrey will host FC Juarez on Tuesday in their Copa MX group before hosting Querétaro next Saturday.

Xolos: Gibran Lajud; Damián Pérez, Juan Carlos Valenzuela, Emanuel Aguilera, Michael Orozco; Víctor Malcorra, Guido Rodríguez; Avilés Hurtado (Matías Pisano, 81’), Joe Corona, Juan Martín Lucero (Henry Martín, 73’); Milton Caraglio (Paul Arriola, 66’)

Rayados: Hugo González: Edgar Castillo (Arturo González, 57’), José María Basanta, César Montes, Iván Piris; Edwin Cardona (Walter Gargano, 80’), Celso Ortiz (Yimmi Chara, 57’), Nicolás Sánchez, Jesús Molina; Rogelio Funes Mori, Dorlan Pabón

Scoring: Xolos - Juan Martín Lucero (16’), Víctor Malcorra (65’); Rayados - None

Disciplinary: Xolos - Damián Pérez (Yellow, 44’); Rayados - Iván Piris (Yellow, 10’), Jesús Molina (Yellow, 69’)