clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Zaldivar adds to Club America’s troubles as Chivas triumph in the Clásico Nacional

Photo by Refugio Ruiz/LatinContent/Getty Images

Chivas earned only their second ever Clásico Nacional victory at the Estadio Chivas as Angel Zaldivar’s first half penalty earned the Rebaño 1-0 victory over rivals Club America on Saturday.

Las Aguilas were in considerable need of a boost after starting the Clausura 2017 with three defeats in six games, but they found themselves on the back end early.

30 minutes into the first half, Alan Pulido wiggled his way inside the box. Pablo Aguilar was unable to react quickly, catching Pulido with his right foot and giving the referee no choice but to call a penalty.

Club America goalkeeper Agustin Marchesin, who has saved three penalties in his short time with las Aguilas, could do nothing about Angel Zaldivar’s spot kick as the hosts took a deserved first half lead.

As expected, it was the visitors who were applying more pressure shortly after conceding, but Ricardo La Volpe’s men struggled to muster much in search for an equalizer.

In the 52nd minute, things went from bad to worse for America when Miguel Samudio was sent off for an apparent stomp.

Chivas remained on the offensive, and both Alan Pulido and Isaac Brizuela tried their luck against Marchesin, forcing saves from the America stopper.

At the other end, coach Ricardo La Volpe also received his marching orders for a silly involvement inside the field.

As the clocked ticked to the final whistle, it became evident Club America would not find their equalizer as Chivas held on to earn their fourth win of the season.