clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Copa MX match preview: Pachuca vs. Tijuana

The final match of the Copa MX Quarterfinals should be one of the best.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Tijuana’s Damián Musto and Pachuca’s Joaquín “Shaggy” Martínez fight for a loose ball.
Tijuana’s Damián Musto and Pachuca’s Joaquín “Shaggy” Martínez fight for a loose ball during Tijuana’s 2-1 victory on August 25, 2017.
Club Tijuana Xoloitzcuintles de Caliente press release

Game: Club de Fútbol Pachuca vs. Club Tijuana Xoloitzcuintles de Caliente

Date: Wednesday, November 8th

Time: 9:30 p.m. Eastern, 8:30 p.m. Central, 6:30 p.m. Pacific, 2:30 a.m. UTC

Venue: Estadio Hidalgo (Pachuca, Hgo.)

Television: United States - Univision Deportes; Mexico - Fox Sports Mexico, ESPN DOS

Streaming: fuboTV (Free trial + monthly subscription), Sling (Free trial + monthly subscription), ESPN Play Latin America

In the final Copa MX quarterfinal match, fifth-seeded Pachuca will host the thirteenth seed Tijuana. The winner of the match will go on to host Ascenso MX side Atlante in the semifinal next week. Pachuca defeated Zacatepec 5-0 in the Round of 16, while Morelia took Tijuana to penalties to advance to this round.

Pachuca has been rather disappointing this season in Liga MX play. After losing Hirving Lozano to PSV in the Netherlands during the past offseason, Tuzos brought in Chilean striker Edson Puch from Necaxa and Keisuke Honda from AC Milan. The squad hasn’t really gelled, and injuries have ravaged the squad this season. Pachuca is out of the Liguilla, so they’ll look to play the strongest squad available to them.

Xolos are in a similar position to Tuzos. Their Liga MX season was a disappointment, and they’re most likely not going to make the Liguilla. They did however experience a bit of success this past weekend under interim manager Diego Torres, who will manage the club until the end of the season after Eduardo Coudet’s departure. Xolos will also most likely play most of their first team squad, although there may be some more rotation than Pachuca.

With two teams that have little to play for other than this competition, look for both sides to play like there’s no tomorrow because for one of them there won’t be one.