clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Player Ratings: Chivas vs. Club Tijuana, Clausura 2017

Chivas clashed with Xolos in search of more home success. 

Photo by HECTOR GUERRERO/AFP/Getty Images

Chivas dropped three points at home against Miguel Herrera’s Tijuana in a 1-0 defeat at the Estadio Chivas on Saturday night for the third match date of the 2017 Clausura.

After a disappointing 2-2 draw against Monterrey, Matías Almeyda’s only change in the lineup for the match was leaving out José “Gallito” Vázquez in favor of Michael Pérez. Unfortunately for Chivas, their usual intense start did not bare the same fruits as it had in previous match dates. Xolos would foul dynamic players like Orbelín Pineda and weather the storm to finish the first half with a scoreless draw. Chivas’ best opportunity came from an Edwin Hernández shot from outside of the box in the 11th minute that rattled the crossbar.

Hernández had a very active night in holding up play on the flank, but it was Orbelín Pineda who looked most impressive throughout the encounter. Pineda’s tireless work-rate saw him win possession back, block shots and generate opportunities in the midfield. A 39th minute exchange between him and Rodolfo Pizarro saw them create a chance for Alan Pulido that was barely cleared off the line by Xolos.

As dynamic as Chivas was in the midfield, Xolos did well to stifle them in the final third of the pitch. Ángel Zaldívar was constantly met with multiple defenders while Tijuana’s defense quickly swarmed Alan Pulido.

Tijuana’s Milton Caraglio sealed Chivas’ fate when he headed in a cross just inside the left post in the 74th minute. Caraglio leapt over Oswaldo Alanis and put the ball past Rodolfo Cota. Almeyda’s substitutions did little to remedy the problem in the final third as Xolos escaped with a victory.

Almeyda and company have a busy week ahead of them with midweek Copa MX play and the fourth Liga MX match date against Querétaro at La Corregidora on Saturday, January 28th.

Here are the ratings for Saturday night’s squad:

Rodolfo Cota: 6.5

Oswaldo Alanís: 5.5

Carlos Salcido: 6

Edwin Hernández: 7

Jesús Sánchez: 6

Orbelín Pineda: 7.5

Ángel Zaldívar: 5

Javier López: 7

Michael Pérez: 6

Rodolfo Pizarro: 7

Alan Pulido: 6


Guillermo Martínez Ayala: 6

Isaác Brizuela: 6.5

Carlos Fierro: 6