clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tijuana vs. Querétaro: Highlights

Although Xolos surrendered their first goal at home this season, they still managed to hang on for the win over Los Gallos.

Tijuana’s Dayro Moreno winds up for a shot against Monterrey. Xolos and Rayados drew 0-0. Club Tijuana Press Release

A dominant first half was enough for Tijuana, as Xolos defeated Querétaro 2-1 in Baja California on Wednesday night.

Tijuana’s first goal came in the 23rd minute when Dayro Moreno was in the right place at the right time. Damián Pérez’ cross to Milton Caraglio was perfect, and Caraglio’s header took a fortunate bounce right to Moreno who did not miss, giving him a league-leading ninth goal and giving Xolos the lead.

Just nine minutes later, Xolos would double their lead. Gabriel Hauche’s pass in to Avilés Hurtado was great but Hurtado’s ability to get a delicate touch on the ball and direct it past Tiago Volpi was perfect.

What the video clips don’t show is the fluid cross field passing from Xolos. Each pass on this entire sequence was weighted perfectly, on target, and on time. Querétaro has looked poor at points this season, but this goal looked too easy.

Querétaro was able to claw one back in the 64th minute when Camilo Sanvezzo (yes, MLS fans that Camilo Sanvezzo) hit an absolute golazo.

This broke Tijuana’s home shutout streak at 423 minutes this season.

There were several close calls toward the end of the match, with Federico Vilar being called to make a couple of great saves, but Xolos were able to hold on to win and stay one point behind Tigres in the standings.

Xolos: Federico Vilar; Damián Pérez, Emanuel Aguilera, Juan Valenzuela, Michael Orozco; Avilés Hurtado (Victor Malcorra - 65’), Kevin Gutiérrez, Guido Rodríguez, Gabriel Hauche (Juninho - 74’); Milton Caraglio, Dayro Moreno (Paul Arriola - 87’)

Gallos: Thiago Volpi; Dionicio Escalante (Jonathan Bornstein - 35’), Miguel Martínez, Juan Forlín, Jaime Gómez; Neri Cardozo, Nery Domínguez, Luis Noreiga (Armando Zamorano - 63’), Ángel Sepúlveda; Edgar Benítez (Yerson Candelo - 63’), Camilo Sanvezzo

Scoring: Tijuana - Dayro Moreno (23’), Avilés Hurtado (32’); Querétaro - Camilo Sanvezzo (64’)