clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Player Ratings: Chivas vs. America, Clásico Nacional

Chivas and America renewed hostilities in the Súper Clásico

Chivas spoiled arch nemesis America’s 100th anniversary by defeating them 3-0 in a Saturday night Súper Clásico at the Estadio Azteca for the seventh match date of the 2016 Apertura.

America seemingly dominated possession and pressured El Rebaño in the early going, but Javier “Chofis” López and Isaác Brizuela quickly turned the tide. López’s low cross was tapped right past a sliding Osmar Mares and Moisés Muñoz by Brizuela to give Chivas a 1-0 lead in the 19th minute. The López-Brizuela connection doubled the advantage in the 32nd minute when Brizuela slotted his shot past Muñoz after receiving a well-placed pass from López.

Matías Almeyda’s men were menacing on the break and quickly began stringing together substantial durations of possession as the first half wore on. An in-form Brizuela was certainly an impact player as he even forced Mares to rack up a yellow card in the 35th minute. America ended the game with seven yellow cards as Chivas finished with six.

Orbelín Pineda had a chance to add to the tally on a lightning quick 55th minute counter but mishandled a pass in the box; once again Chofis was instrumental to the build up. While America struggled to produce chances at goal, Rodolfo Cota confidently handled any opportunities from las Aguilas.

Carlos “Gullit” Peña delivered the 3-0 dagger in the 85th minute with a header received from a Brizuela cross. Gullit had to catch up to the scoring play, as he delivered the pass to Brizuela from his own half to set it all up. This was a welcome instant of redemption for Peña who missed a costly penalty against America in the 2016 Clausura’s Liguilla.

Almeyda and his side will be able to savor this victory, as their next Liga MX match is set after the international break against Chiapas on Saturday, September 10th.

Rodolfo Cota: 8

Hedgardo Marín: 7

Jair Pereira: 7

Edwin Hernández: 7.5

Jesús Sánchez: 8

Javier López: 8.5

Orbelín Pineda: 7.5

Ángel Zaldívar: 7

Carlos Cisneros: 6.5

Isaác Brizuela: 9.5

Michael Pérez: 7.5


Carlos Peña: 8

Marco Bueno: 7

José Juan Vázquez: 7