clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chivas Guadalajara vs. Pumas UNAM: Player Ratings

Chivas opened the 2016 Apertura against Pumas in a tight affair.

Miguel Tovar/LatinContent/Getty Images

Chivas fell 1-0 to Pumas at the Estadio Olímpico Universitario on a Sunday afternoon match to open the 2016 Apertura.

Matías Almeyda's men were unable to open the Apertura with a win or goal that would benefit them. Francisco Palencia's team would look the most menacing in the first half of the game as they produced more opportunities. Edwin Hernández was able to rally back in time to deflect a Pablo Barrera shot and keep the score sheet level.

The game was tight on man-marking and very congested in the final halves for both teams, but it was ultimately a 56th minute bit of miscommunication between Jair Pereira and goalkeeper Rodolfo Cota that cost Chivas the game.

Almeyda's changes were unable to reel in a goal. Although Marco Bueno debuted in the 66th minute as a substitute, the 22-year-old Culiacán native didn't do much to trouble Pumas in the final third.

Carlos "Gullit" Peña produced some of Chivas' most lethal opportunities, including a 79th minute shot that forced a save from Pumas' goalkeeper Alejandro "Pikolin" Palacios. Most notably, he failed in exorcising some Liguilla demons when he failed a 91st minute penalty that would have tied the game for Chivas. In the second leg of Chivas' 2016 Clausura Liguilla against America, "Gullit" sent a penalty over the bar that would've extended their aggregate lead over the Aguilas.

José Juan "Gallito" Vázquez did not make his debut with Chivas, as Almeyda did not see the game's situation fit for his play. The former Leon man will have to wait another week to see action in this Apertura. He'll have the chance to do so against Monterrey on Saturday.

Rodolfo Cota: 5.5

Carlos Salcedo: 6.5

Jair Pereira: 5

Edwin Hernández: 6.5

Jesús Sánchez: 6

Carlos Peña: 5.5

Orbelín Pineda: 6

Carlos Salcido: 7

Ángel Zaldívar: 5.5

Carlos Cisneros: 6

Isaác Brizuela: 6


Nestor Calderón: 6

Javier López: 6.5

Marco Bueno: 6