clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ismael Sosa nets winner as Tigres lift Campeón de Campeones trophy

Ismael Sosa scored his first Tigres goal as the 2015 Liga MX Apertura champions took home the Campeon de Campeones title with a 1-0 win over Pachuca.

The Tuzos started as the better team with Hirving "Chucky" Lozano coming close to grabbing an early breakthrough, sending a shot narrowly wide of Nahuel Guzman's goal.

Tigres regained their footing after 15 minutes, however, and Oscar "Conejo" Perez was forced to his very first save of the game in the 18th minute.

Ricardo "Tuca" Ferretti's side didn't have to wait long to get their reward, and only five minutes later, Ismael Sosa, who arrived from Pumas UNAM in the summer transfer market, fired home from a Javier Aquino pass to give Tigres the lead.

After half-time, Pachuca nearly equalized on the counter-attack as Lozano could not manage to send his shot on target.

Tigres though were forced to play most of the second half with 10 men after Guido Pizarro was sent off in the 56th minute.

As such, Pachuca had their share of scoring opportunities, but Nahuel Guzman twice turned hero to keep Tigres in the lead.

The Tuzos were left shaking their head when Ruben Botta was sent off with 10 minutes to go in the match. Tigres then withstood a late Pachuca attack to win the Campeon de Campeones Trophy.