clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Andres Guardado and Hector Moreno crowned 2015/2016 Dutch Eredivisie champions

Dean Mouhtaropoulos/Getty Images

PSV Eindhoven clinched consecutive Dutch Eredivisie titles in dramatic fashion as they defeated PEC Zwolle 3-1 at the Ijsseldelta Stadion on Sunday.

Andres Guardado and Hector Moreno came into this game knowing they needed a win to have any chance of winning the Eredivise Schaal.

League leaders Ajax, however, were away to penultimate side De Graafschap and a win would be enough crown them league champions instead.

Ajax got off to a flying start through Amin Younes, while PSV took a convincing 2-0 lead at the half.

But ten minutes after the break, Ajax's league season came crumbling down when Bryan Smeets leveled the score for De Graafschap.

The result meant if PSV held on they would be crowned champions for the 23rd time. Ouasim Bouy got one back for the hosts, but just a minute later, Luuk de Jong scored his second of the night to start the celebrations in Eindhoven.

Andres Guardado and Hector Moreno have now won the Dutch Eredivisie twice in their professional career, The only other Mexican international to have won it is Chivas midfielder Carlos Salcido.