clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ten-man Pachuca score in the last-minute to win 2016 Liga MX Clausura title

Miguel Tovar/LatinContent/Getty Images

Pachuca earned the Liga MX title for a sixth time by defeating Monterrey 2-1 on aggregate, as the 2016 Liga MX Clausura was decided in the final minute of the game.

Los Tuzos' 1-0 advantage from the first leg was cancelled out by a superb strike from Dorlan Pabon in the 39th minute, but Victor Guzman headed home at the death to give Pachuca the title in dramatic fashion.

Monterrey were in control early, with Edwin Cardona forcing Oscar "Conejo" Perez to a quick save.

Minutes later, a penalty was called when Neri Cardozo drew a foul from Emmanuel Garcia inside the box. Edwin Cardona stepped up, but he sent his spot kick well above the goal.

Conejo Perez, 43, was largely a factor in this game, twice denying Monterrey in a sequence of just a few seconds.

Monterrey were in the lead five minutes later, however, when Dorlan Pabon unleashed a shot from distance to level the aggregate score.

As the game entered the second half, Monterrey continued their dominance as they cautiously pushed forward in search of the winner.

In the 74th minute, Pachuca's title hopes were dealt a big blow when Aquivaldo Mosquera was sent off for last-man tackle on Dorlan Pabon.

As the game looked headed towards extra time, Pachuca midfielder Victor Guzman, who replaced Erick Gutierrez in the 66th minute, rose above his defender in the far post and headed past Jonathan Orozco to give Pachuca the title.