clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Club America claim second straight CONCACAF Champions League title

Atsushi Tomura/Getty Images

Club America celebrated consecutive CONCACAF Champions League titles as Las Aguilas defeated Tigres 4-1 on aggregate to break the record for most CONCACAF Club titles won.

Ricardo "Tuca" Ferretti's men needed at least two goals to force extra time after dropping to a 2-0 defeat in the first leg.

And the Liga MX champions were almost caught out early as the hosts broke free on the left through Rubens Sambueza, only to see Darwin Quintero fail to steer home the opener.

Tigres sorely needed French international Andre-Pierre Gignac to be at his best, and he delivered when he fired in from a rebound at the stroke of halftime to pull the Liga MX champions within one.

In the second half, Tigres retained possession but struggled to find top gear as their midfield gave the side little impetus going forward.

In the 65th minute, Michael Arroyo came on as a substitute and almost immediately showed his dynamism. The Ecuadorian forward breezed his way onto the edge of the box before slamming home past Naheul Guzman to put things at 3-1 on aggregate.

With three minuets to go in the match, Las Aguilas finally put a seal on the title. A penalty was called for a tackle on Miguel Samudio. Osvaldo Martinez stepped up and converted to send the Estadio Azteca into jubilation.

The final whistle meant Club America will represent CONCACAF in this winter's Club World Cup and it adds another accomplishment to one of Mexico's most historic teams.

You can watch highlights of Club America's historic win below: