clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

How Tijuana can still win the Superlider

Xolos need help, but it’s not impossible.

Club Tijuana Xoloitzcuintles de Caliente press release

A win or a draw against hapless Veracruz was all that Tijuana needed to clinch the Superlider (top spot in the table) for the 2016 Apertura - something they’ve never done in club history. Unfortunately, an own goal means that they’ll need help in order to retain this.

Xolos fans will be anxiously watching the Pachuca vs. Club América and UANL Tigres vs. Querétaro matches, as these matches will directly influence if Xolos can hang on to the top spot in Liga MX.

Here’s what needs to happen for Xolos to do just that:

  • Querétaro win against Tigres

OR

  • Querétaro draws against Tigres

OR

  • Tigres wins against Querétaro by one goal

OR

  • Tigres wins against Querétaro by two goals and does not score four goals or more

AND

  • Club América win against Pachuca

OR

  • Club América draw against Pachuca

Tigres hosts Querétaro on Saturday at 8:00 PM Eastern / 7:00 PM Central / 5:00 PM Pacific. The match will be televised in the United States on Univision Deportes USA and Univision USA, in Mexico on Sky HD and SKY Planeta Fútbol, and streamed on Univision NOW and fuboTV.

Club América hosts Pachuca on Saturday at 8:06 PM Eastern / 7:06 PM Central / 5:06 PM Pacific. The match will be televised in the United States on NBC UNIVERSO, in Mexico on FOX Sports 2 Mexico, Fox Sports Cono Sur, FOX Play Latin America, and Claro Sports, and streamed online on NBC UNIVERSO’s streaming platform.