clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Liga MX clubs learn their opponents for 2016 Copa Libertadores

Juliana Flister/Getty Images

The draw for the 2016 Copa Libertadores took place in Paraguay on Tuesday. Three Liga MX teams are set to compete in the 57th edition of South America's premier club competition.

After finishing third in the 2015 Apertura regular season, Toluca will square off against San Lorenzo (Argentina), Gremio (Brazil), and LDU Quito (Ecuador) in Group 6.

Current Liga MX runners-up, Pumas UNAM, headline Group 7 with Olimpia (Paraguay), Emelec (Ecuador), and Deportivo Tachira (Venezuela).

Supercopa MX champion Puebla will make its tournament debut and will face Racing (Argentina) in a home-and-away playoff, with the winner progressing to Group 3 against Boca Juniors (Argentina), Bolivar (Bolivia), and Deportivo Cali (Colombia).

The rest of the groups for the 2016 Copa Libertadores can be seen below:

Group 1: River Plate, The Strongest, Trujillanos, and (Cesar Vallejo or Sao Paulo)
Group 2: Nacional, Palmeiras, Rosario Central and (Universidad de Chile or River Plate-URU)
Group 3: Boca Juniors, Bolivar, Deportivo Cali, and (Puebla or Racing)
Group 4: Penarol, Atletico Nacional, Sporting Cristal, and (Huracan or Caracas)
Group 5: Atletico Minero, Colo-Colo, Melgar,  and (Independiente del Valle or Guarani)
Group 6: San Lorenzo, Gremio, LDU Quito, and Toluca
Group 7: Olimpia, Emelec, Deportivo Tachira, and Pumas UNAM
Group 8: Corinthians, Cerro Porteno, Cobresal, and (Oriente Petrolero or Independiente Santa Fe)