clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Balón de Oro Awards: Lucas Lobos Named Top Player, Joe Corona Top Newcomer

As expected, UANL Tigres made close to a clean sweep of the Apertura 2011 Balón de Oro awards at last night’s ceremony in Mexico City. Lucas Lobos led the way for the defending champions, picking up the award for best player as well as another for being the tournament’s top attacking midfielder. Tigres picked up seven individual awards in total, along with team awards for fair play and as tournament champions. Also of note, Joe Corona was named Rookie of the Year for his performance during Tijuana’s inaugural season in the top flight. Other non-Tigres winners included Oribe Peralta as top striker, and Juan Pablo Rodriguez as top defensive midfielder.

See below for a full list of the Apertura 2011 Balón de Oro winners.

Best Player - Lucas Lobos (Tigres)
Manager - Ricardo Ferretti (Tigres)
Newcomer - Joe Corona (Tijuana)
Top Scorer - Ivan Alsonso (Toluca)
Forward - Oribe Peralta (Santos)
Attacking Midfielder - Lucas Lobos (Tigres)
Defensive Midfielder - Juan Pablo Rodriguez (Santos)
Central Defender - Hugo Ayala (Tigres)
Lateral Defender - Jorge Torres Nilo (Tigres)
Goalkeeper - Enrique Palos (Tigres)
Trainer- Guillermo Orta (Tigres)
Referee - Roberto Garcia
Assistant Referee - Juan Joel Rangel
Fair Play - Tigres
Superlider - Chivas
Primera Champions- Tigres
Sub-20 Champions - America
Sub-17 Champions - Chivas
Sub-15 Champions - Pachuca