clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mexican Primera Apertura 2011 Schedule Released

On Tuesday afternoon, the Mexican Futbol Federation officially released the full schedule for the upcoming Apertura 2011 season. The new season kicks off on Friday night July 22nd, with Estudiantes Tecos at home against Toluca. After 17 rounds of play, the regular season will conclude on November 6th.

The opening weekend of the Apertura is highlighted by a match-up between UANL Tigres and Cruz Azul on Saturday July 23rd. The following day, newly promoted Tijuana Xolos host Monarcas Morelia in their Primera Division debut at Estadio Caliente on Sunday July 24th.

There will be two rounds of midweek fixtures this season. Round 3 takes place on Wednesday August 3rd, and Round 15 is scheduled for Wednesday October 26th. This season there will be no groups, and the top eight overall teams in the full league table will qualify for the Liguilla playoffs.

Already all eyes are on Round 14, which has been labeled "Clasico Weekend." The Round 14 weekend features a Clasico Regiomontano match between Tigres and Monterrey on Saturday October 22nd, followed by Club America hosting Chivas at the Estadio Azteca on Sunday October 23rd.

Here are just a few of the matches worth marking on your calendar for the upcoming season:

UANL Tigres vs. Cruz Azul, Round 1, Saturday July 23rd

Cruz Azul vs. Chivas, Round 10, Saturday September 24th

Pumas UNAM vs. Club America, Round 11, Sunday October 2nd

UANL Tigres vs. Pumas UNAM, Round 12, Saturday October 8th

UANL Tigres vs. Monterrey, Round 14, Saturday October 22nd

Club America vs. Chivas, Round 14, Sunday October 23rd

Atlas vs. Chivas, Round 16, Saturday October 29th

Cruz Azul vs. Club America, Round 17, Saturday November 5th

Chivas vs. Pachuca, Round 17, Saturday November 5th