clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mexican League Table 2010-2011: Cruz Azul Champions!

The Mexican football season is split into two halves, the Apertura (Opening) and the Clausura (Closing), as most regular followers would be well aware. The play-off system is also employed to decide the champions of both seasons.

But what would the league table look like if it was spread over the whole year like the English Premier League is?

Cruz Azul would have already won the championship with four points more than Pumas with only one game remaining. Then come Monterrey neighbours Tigres and Monterrey in the "Champions League" places. America are perhaps surprisingly in fifth and Chivas sit in eighth. Going down would be Necaxa, Estudiantes and there would be a last day survival battle between Puebla, Atlas, Jaguares and Queretaro.

Perhaps more than anything the league shows the unpredictability of Mexican football and the huge dips and highs that occur over just a year. The best example: Cruz Azul, the "champions," might not even make the play-offs during this Clausura if they don´t win at the weekend.

League table:

Team                      Points

Cruz Azul                64

Pumas                   60

Tigres                     56

Monterrey               55

America                  50

Santos                    50

Morelia                    49

Chivas                     47

San Luis                  46

Toluca                       43

Pachuca                   42

Atlante                       40

Puebla                      37

Atlas                          36

Jaguares                  36

Queretaro                 35

Estudiantes              32

Necaxa                       30


Top scorers:

Christian Benitez: 17

Humberto Suazo: 15

Emanuel Villa: 14

Angel Reyna: 13

Matias Vuoso: 13

Hector Mancilla: 13

Mauro Cejas: 13

Wilmar Aguirre: 13

Christian Gimenez: 13

Marco Fabian: 12